Université de Mons


The University of Mons, abbreviated to “UMONS”, is a French-speaking university in the province of Hainaut, Belgium, near the French-Belgian border. It is approximately 50km from Brussels, the capital of Europe. UMONS was created in 2009 following a merger between the University of Mons-Hainaut and the Faculty of Engineering of Mons, the university’s oldest faculty, founded in 1837. UMONS is one of five academic centres set up in the Wallonia-Brussels Federation as part of the restructuring of higher education, and is one of the founding members of the Pôle hainuyer. It assumes the co-presidency of this cluster, which groups together 3 universities, 3 hautes écoles, 3 graduate art schools and 26 continuing education institutions, and offers nearly 600 courses in 21 fields of education to more than 30,000 students in the province of Hainaut.